Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland FMD

Research Fab Microelectronics Germany

more info

Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD) -
Research Fab Microelectronics Germany

Nationwide coordinated technology know-how from a single source

The Fraunhofer IISB is one of the 13 members of Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD) - the largest cross-location R&D consortium for micro- and nanoelectronics in Europe with over 2000 scientists.

This innovative cooperation combines the advantages of two strong decentralized research organizations - the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the Leibniz Association - with the synergies of a central organization to form the world's most efficient provider of applied research, development and innovation in the field of micro- and nanoelectronics. Thanks to its close integration and coherent appearance, FMD can thus offer not only customers from large-scale industry, but also SMEs and start-ups in particular, more comprehensive and easier access to the next generation of technology.

-> Homepage "Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland" (FMD)

 


Locations of FMD in Germany

Process line for processing the backside of silicon carbide wafers for vertical power devices
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

Process line for processing the backside of silicon carbide wafers for vertical power devices

The Function of Fraunhofer IISB in the Research Factory Microelectronics Germany

Disco grinding and polishing machines for back-thinning and polishing of SiC wafers.
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

Disco grinding and polishing machines for back-thinning and polishing of SiC wafers.

X-ray topography system of the company Rigaku, model XRTmicron.
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

X-ray topography system of the company Rigaku, model XRTmicron.

High-Rate Xenon Plasma FIB (Focussed Ion Beam) System with Micro Pull Module.
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

High-Rate Xenon Plasma FIB (Focussed Ion Beam) System with Micro Pull Module.

The FMD is a global innovation driver which, as the largest multi-site R&D consortium for microelectronics in Europe, offers a unique diversity of competencies and infrastructure. FMD bridges the gap between basic research and customer-specific product development. In the field of power electronics, FMD's range of services includes the manufacture of power electronic devices and their integration into modules and systems. Special attention is paid to the manufacture and processing of Wide-Band-Gap (WBG) semiconductors, i.e. semiconductor materials with large band gaps (SiC, GaN, AlN, Diamond).

Within FMD, Fraunhofer IISB has a unique selling point with its integrated, certified production line for the processing of individual SiC-based prototype devices in an industry-compliant environment.

In the front-end area for wafer sizes of 100 mm and 150 mm, all desired process steps can be performed at Fraunhofer IISB, such as epitaxy, ICP dry etching, growth of silicon dioxide, aluminum implantation at elevated temperatures, activation tempering or conductive contact alloy. Usually, vertical components are manufactured in SiC for power electronics. Therefore, the processing of the backside of the SiC wafers is of critical importance. The FMD investments now also enable the bonding and debonding of already processed wafers, the thin grinding of wafers and the reduction of contact on the rear side by means of advanced metallization and laser silicidation.

New integration technologies and innovative assembly and system concepts for prototyping and the production of future power modules are available in the backend area. This makes it possible, for example, to realize particularly complex and compact structures, heavily stressed (special) applications with sometimes small quantities or durable high-temperature power electronic modules.

Extensive, complementary methods are available along the process chain for quality control. The most important of these are a fast, high-resolution X-ray topography system for the analysis of the structural properties of crystals, wafers and partially processed wafers and a combined surface inspection photoluminescence device for the analysis of the near-surface material properties of SiC along the process chain. The equipment is supplemented by special measuring stations, which are adapted to the specific, sometimes extreme conditions of power electronics, such as an extra-high voltage measuring station as well as special lifetime and reliability test laboratories.

For the research of new semiconductor materials with large band gaps, crystals of these materials are needed, which then have to be further processed into wafers in order to evaluate the potential in FMD for power electronics or for other applications such as in quantum technology. Since the new crystal materials, such as GaN, AlN or Diamond, are usually crystals with small diameters (50 mm or smaller), Fraunhofer IISB operates a special substrate and wafer laboratory to produce wafers from such crystals. The quality of the wafers used to manufacture the devices is tested using various analytical methods, including the determination of their epitaxial suitability and the production of special test structures.

Wafering Laboratory for New Wide-Bandgap Materials at Fraunhofer IISB

Aluminium Nitride Crystal

Aluminium Nitride Crystal

Cylindrical Grinding

Cylindrical Grinding

Orientation
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB

Orientation

Sawing
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB

Sawing

Grinding
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB

Grinding

 Polishing & Cleaning
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB

Polishing & Cleaning

Epitaxy
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

Epitaxy

AlN Wafer

AlN Wafer

Backend of Line Processing for SiC @Fraunhofer IISB

Process Line for Wafer Thinning and Backside Contact Formation up to 150 mm.

Advanced Packaging Line for Power Electronics

The well-established, close-to-production processes for power semiconductors packaging and assembly such as stencil printing, die bonding, (vacuum) reflow, wire bonding and encapsulation are expanded to meet the demand of future technologies and systems driven by the ongoing miniaturization and advanced applications:

  • Joining layers, conductor circuits and windings can be processed with extended accuracy in positioning and volume by screen or stencil printers working on planar substrates.
  • Ink-jet printing enables high viscosity pastes and low viscosity inks to be applied over topography and complex 3D structures.
  • A high-precision die bonder positions components on substrates or on top of other components that are bonded/sintered in-situ or as batch (chip-2-wafer, chip-2-interposer, chip-2-chip, package-on-package).
  • A flexible sinter press allows single and double-sided sintering of large and small surfaces under inert or reactive gas atmospheres with tide mechanical and process tolerances and good reproducibility.   

The sustainable protection against environmental influences of components, substrates, modules and systems is completed by:

  • Well-established (vacuum) casting system allowing for the use of soft and hard encapsulation material as sealant
  • Flexible parylene coating system for conformal sealing with organic thin films as already established in medicine and avionics
  • Novel inorganic protective coatings with very high temperature and corrosion resistance

Innovative packaging concepts can be implemented with advanced processes:

  • additive production with 3D printers for ceramics, metal and polymer
  • Ultra-fine processing with ultra-short pulse laser and focused ion beam together with in-situ analytics

The advanced packaging line allows for the production of prototypes and pre-series in an ISO 7 clean room environment.

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

Stencil printer and Ink-jet printer for sinter and solder pastes as well as printing polymers and thermal interface materials in the packaging clean room

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

High-Rate Xe-Plasma Focussed Ion Beam Plant

© Fraunhofer IISB

High precision die bonder

Environmental Tests - Power Semiconductors – Devices and Systems

Laboratory for environmental tests of power semiconductor active and passive devices, smart modules and systems incl. wide-band gap material such as SiC for applications within power transmission, mobility, aerospace and industry.

The test conditions cover:   

  • Vibration
  • Temperature and humidity including temperature shock
  • Corrosive atmospheres e.g. corrosive gases and salt spray

and are accounting for the unique requirements of power semiconductors:

  • High power with high voltages and high currents
  • Avalanche-/breakdown and switching tests
  • Active cycling

Together with an experienced and state-of-the art failure analytics and characterization including:          

  • lock-in thermography and
  • focused-ion-beam / electron microscopy

both forensic studies as well as qualification tests are performed complying to industry standards such as AQG324.

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB

Shaker Laboratory Laser Doppler Vibrometer Frequency response analysis of a printed circuit board with Laser Doppler Vibrometry on a shaker.

© Fraunhofer IISB

Active powercycling of wide-band-gap semiconductor

© Fraunhofer IISB

Corrosion in liquids and gasses

Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland FMD

mehr Info

Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland FMD

Bundesweit koordiniertes Technologie-Know-how aus einer Hand

Das Fraunhofer IISB ist eines der 13 Mitglieder der Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD) – der mit über 2000 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern größte standortübergreifende FuE-Zusammenschluss für die Mikro- und Nanoelektronik in Europa.  

In der neuartigen Kooperation werden die Vorteile von zwei starken dezentralen Forschungsorganisationen – der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft – mit den Synergien einer zentralen Organisation zum weltweit leistungsfähigsten Anbieter für angewandte Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation im Bereich der Mikro- und Nanoelektronik verknüpft. Durch die enge Verzahnung und das kohärente Auftreten kann die FMD somit nicht nur Kunden aus der Großindustrie, sondern gerade auch den KMUs und Start-Ups einen umfassenden und einfacheren Zugang zur nächsten Technologie-Generation bieten.  

-> Homepage der Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland FMD

 

Standorte der FMD
Prozesslinie zur Bearbeitung der Rückseite von Siliciumcarbid-Wafern für vertikale Leistungsbauelemente.
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Prozesslinie zur Bearbeitung der Rückseite von Siliciumcarbid-Wafern für vertikale Leistungsbauelemente.

Die Rolle des Fraunhofer IISB in der
Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Disco-Schleif- und Poliermaschinen zum Rückdünnen und Polieren von SiC-Halbleiterscheiben.
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Röntgentopographieanlage der Firma Rigaku, Model XRTmicron.
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Hoch-Raten Xenon-Plasma FIB-Anlage (Focussed Ion Beam) mit Mikro-Zug-Modul.

Die FMD ist ein globaler Innovationstreiber, der als größter standortübergreifender FuE-Zusammenschluss für die Mikroelektronik in Europa eine einzigartige Kompetenz- und Infrastrukturvielfalt bietet. Die FMD schlägt dabei die Brücke von der Grundlagenforschung bis zur kundenspezifischen Produktentwicklung. Im Themenfeld »Leistungselektronik« umfasst das Leistungsangebot der FMD die Herstellung leistungselektronischer Bauelemente und deren Integration in Module und Systeme. Spezielles Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Herstellung und Prozessierung von Wide-Band-Gap-Halbleitern (WBG), also Halbleitermaterialien mit großer Bandlücke (SiC, GaN, AlN, Diamant).

Mit seiner durchgängigen, zertifizierten Produktionslinie zur Prozessierung von individuellen SiC-basierten Prototyp-Bauelementen in einem industriekonformen Umfeld hat das Fraunhofer IISB innerhalb der FMD ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal.  

Am Fraunhofer IISB können im Frontend-Bereich für Wafergrößen von 100 mm und 150 mm alle gewünschten Prozessschritte, etwa Epitaxie, ICP-Trockenätzen, Wachstum von Siliziumdioxid, Aluminiumimplantation bei erhöhter Temperatur, Aktivierungstempern oder auch leitende Kontaktlegierungen, durchgeführt werden. Üblicherweise werden für die Leistungselektronik in SiC vertikale Bauelemente hergestellt. Deshalb kommt der Bearbeitung der Rückseite der SiC-Wafer eine entscheidende Bedeutung zu. Die FMD-Investitionen ermöglichen nun auch das Bonding und Debonding von bereits prozessierten Scheiben, das Dünnschleifen der Scheiben und die Reduzierung des Kontakts auf der Rückseite mittels fortschrittlicher Metallisierung und Lasersilizidierung.

Im Backend-Bereich stehen neue Integrationstechniken und innovative Aufbau- und Systemkonzepte für das Prototyping und die Herstellung zukünftiger Leistungsmodule zur Verfügung. Damit können beispielsweise besonders komplexe und kompakte Aufbauten, stark beanspruchte (Spezial-) Anwendungen mit teils kleinen Stückzahlen oder langlebige Hochtemperatur-Leistungselektronikmodule realisiert werden.

Für die Qualitätskontrolle sind entlang der Prozesskette umfangreiche, sich ergänzende Methoden vorhanden. Hervorzuheben sind hier eine schnelle, hochauflösende Röntgentopographie-Anlage zur Analyse der strukturellen Eigenschaften von Kristallen, Wafern und teilprozessierten Wafern sowie ein kombiniertes Oberflächeninspektions-Photolumineszenzgerät zur Analyse der oberflächennahen Materialeigenschaften von SiC entlang der Prozesskette. Ergänzt wird die Ausstattung durch spezielle Messplätze, die auf die spezifischen, teils extremen Bedingungen der Leistungselektronik angepasst sind, wie ein Höchstspannungsmessplatz sowie spezielle Lebensdauer- und Zuverlässigkeitsprüflabore.

Für die Erforschung neuer Halbleitermaterialien mit großer Bandlücke werden Kristalle aus diesen Materialien benötigt, die dann zu Wafern weiterverarbeitet werden müssen, um darauf in der FMD das Potential für die Leistungselektronik oder für andere Anwendungen – wie zum Beispiel im Bereich der Quantentechnologie – zu evaluieren. Da es sich in der Regel bei den neuen Kristallmaterialien, zum Beispiel GaN, AlN oder Diamant, um Kristalle mit kleinem Durchmesser (50 mm oder kleiner) handelt, wird am Fraunhofer IISB ein spezielles Substrat- und Waferinglabor betrieben, um aus solchen Kristallen Wafer herzustellen. Die Qualität der Wafer für die Bauelementherstellung wird durch verschiedene analytische Verfahren überprüft, bis hin zur Feststellung der Epitaxietauglichkeit und Fertigung spezieller Teststrukturen.

Wafering-Labor für neue Wide-Bandgap-Materialien am Fraunhofer IISB

Aluminiumnitrid-Kristall
Aluminiumnitrid-Kristall
Rundschleifen
Rundschleifen
Orientieren
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB
Orientieren
Sägen
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB
Sägen
Schleifen
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB
Schleifen
Polieren & Reinigen
© Kurt Fuchs /Fraunhofer IISB
Polieren & Reinigen
Epitaxie
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Epitaxie
AlN-Wafer
AlN-Wafer

SiC-Waferdünnung und Rückseiten-Kontaktierung bis zu 150 mm

Advanced Packaging Linie für die Leistungselektronik

Die gut etablierten, seriennahen Prozesse der Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik für Leistungshalbleiter und –bauelemente wie Schablonendruck, Die-Bond, (Vakuum-) Reflow, Drahtbond und Verguss sind erweitert um Prozesse und Anlagen, die den gestiegenen Anforderungen z.B. aus der anhaltenden Miniaturisierung und fortschrittlichen Einsatzfällen gerecht werden:

  • Fügeschichten, Leiterbahnen und Windungen können von auf planaren Substraten arbeitenden Sieb- oder Schablonendrucker mit erweiterter Genauigkeit in Positionierung und Volumen verarbeitet werden.
  • Durch Ink-Jet Druckverfahren wird es ermöglicht, hochviskose Pasten und niederviskosere Tinten auch über Topographie und auf komplexe 3D-Strukturen aufzubringen.
  • Ein hoch-präziser Die-Bonder positioniert Bauteile auf Substraten oder anderen Bauteilen, die anschließend im Verbund oder in-situ gebondet/versintert werden (Chip-2-Wafer, Chip-2-Interposer, Chip-2-Chip, Package-on-Package).
  • Die flexible Sinterpresse erlaubt das einseitige und doppelseitige Sintern großer und kleiner Flächen unter Inert- als auch Reaktivgasatmosphäre mit engen mechanischen und prozesstechnischen Toleranzen und guter Reproduzierbarkeit.   

Der nachhaltige Schutz vor Umwelteinflüssen von Bauelementen, Subtraten, Modulen und Systemen wird komplettiert durch:

  • Prozessstabile (Vakuum-)Vergussanlage Weich- und Hartvergussmaterial als etablierte Versiegelung
  • Flexible Parylene-Beschichtungsanlage für eine konforme Versiegelung mit widerstandsfähigen organischen Dünnfilmen wie sie in der Medizin und  Luftfahrtelektronik bereits etabliert ist
  • Neuartige anorganische Schutzschichten, die sehr hohe Temperatur- und Korrosionsfestigkeit aufweisen

Neuartige Packaging-Konzepte lassen sich mit fortgeschrittenen Verfahren umsetzen:

  • additiven Fertigung mit 3D-Druckern für Keramik, Metall und Kunststoffen umsetzen
  • Feinst-Bearbeitung mit Ultra-Kurzpuls-Laser und Ionen-Feinstrahl nebst in-situ Analytik

Die seriennahen Produktionsschritte werden in Reinraum der Klasse ISO 7 durchgeführt und erlauben Fertigung von Prototypen, Vor- und Kleinserien.                        

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Schablonendrucker und Ink-jet Drucker für Sinter- und Lotpasten sowie das Drucken von Polymeren und Thermal-Interface-Materialien im Reinraum der AVT
© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Hoch-Raten Xe-Plasma Focussed Ion Beam Anlage mit integrierbarem Mikro-Zug-Modul
© Fraunhofer IISB
Hochpräzisions Die-Bonder

Umweltlabor Leistungselektronik – Bauelemente und Systeme

Prüflabor von leistungselektronischen aktiven und passiven Bauelementen, intelligenten Modulen und Systemen (inkl. SiC-Komponenten) für die Anwendung in den Feldern Energieübertragung, Mobilität, Aerospace und Industrie.

Es deckt extremen Umweltbedingungen ab hinsichtlich:          

  • Vibration
  • Temperatur und Feuchte inklusive Temperaturshock
  • Korrosive Atmosphäre – Schadgas und Salzspray

und trägt den besonderen Prüfanforderungen von (Wide-Band-Gap)-Leistungselektronik Rechnung:

  • Hohe Leistungen mit hohen Spannungs- und Stromwerten
  • Durchbruch/Avalanche- und Doppelpuls-Messung
  • Aktive Zyklen

Die Einbindung in eine moderne, für das Anwendungsgebiet Leistungselektronik spezialisierte Infrastruktur für Charakterisierung und Analytik erlaubt die durchgängige Prüfung und Qualifizierung z.B. nach AQG324

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer IISB
Shaker-Labor Laser-Doppler-Vibrometer Frequenzganganalyse einer Leiterplatte mit Laser-Doppler-Vibrometrie an einem Schwingerreger
© Fraunhofer IISB
Aktive Leistungsumschaltung von Breitband-Gap-Halbleitern.
© Fraunhofer IISB
Korrosion in Flüssigkeiten und Gasen