Contactless Charging Of Hearing Aids

Conventional hearing aids need batteries of size 13 (7.8mm diameter and 5.35mm height). By replacing the battery by a smaller size, a volume of 7.8mm diameter and 1.9mm height was gained to integrate a secondary coil and charging electronics.

Different coil types and positions were investigated to minimize eddy current in the battery and maximize the efficiency of the electromagnetic transmission. To ensure safe battery charging and discharging, the whole electronics is integrated into the given space and controlled by a tiny microcontroller. As the battery is based on a new chemistry (silver-zink-based), different charging algorithms were implemented and evaluated.

Project Targets

Most hearing aids are powered by non-rechargeable batteries.To improve ergonomics and usability of hearing aids, a inductive chargeable retro-fit battery module for common hearing aids was developed.

Challanges

Very small physical size of PCB and secondary coil

Battery must supply the hearing aid for at least 18h and be charged again within 6h

Intelligent charging control with battery voltage and charge current monitoring

Results

During this project, a inductive chargeable retrofit battery for hearing aids was developed, integrated and tested. This retrofit module includes a silver-zink based battery, that can be charged inductively and may replace a conventional battery of size 13.

Project Partners

Confidential

Project Duration

2011 - 2012

© Photo Fraunhofer IISB

Kontaktloses Laden von Hörgeräten

Herkömmliche Hörgeräte benötigen Knopfzellen der Größe 13. (7.8mm Durchmesser und 5.35mm Höhe) Durch einen Batterieaustausch wurde ein Platz (7.8mm Durchmesser und 1,9mm Höhe) für eine Sekundärspule und Ladeelektronik geschaffen.

Verschiedene Spulentypen und Positionen wurden untersucht, um die Wirbelströme in der Batterie zu minimieren und die Effizienz der elektromagnetischen Übertragung zu maximieren. Um das Laden und Entladen der Batterie sicherzustellen, wurde die gesamte Elektronik in den gegebenen Bauraum integriert. Des Weiteren wurde ein kleiner Mikrocontroller zur Kontrolle eingebaut.

Da die Batterie aus einer neuen Zusammensetzung besteht (Silber-Zink basiert), wurden verschiedene Ladealgorithmen implementiert und ausgewertet.

Projekt Ziele

Die meisten Hörgeräte werden von nicht aufladbaren Batterien gespeist. Um die Ergonomie und die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu verbessern, war es das Ziel eine induktive wieder aufladbare „retro fit“ Batterie zu entwickeln.

Herausforderungen

Geringe Größe der Leiterplatte und Sekundärspule

Der Batteriespeicher muss für mindestens 18 Stunden ausreichen sowie in 6 Stunden vollständig aufgeladen sein

Intelligente Ladesteuerung mit Batteriespannung und Ladestromüberwachung

Ergebnisse

Während des Projekts wurde eine induktiv aufladbare „retro fit“ Batterie für Hörgeräte entwickelt, integriert und erfolgreich getestet. Das Nachrüstmodul besteht aus einer Silber-Zink basierten Batterie, welche induktiv geladen wird und herkömmliche Knopfbatterien der Größe 13 ersetzen kann.

Projekt Partner

Vertraulich

Projekt Dauer

2011 - 2012

© Fraunhofer IISB