Chair of Electron Devices (LEB)

The Fraunhofer IISB and the Chair of Electron Devices (German abbreviation: LEB) of the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg are both headed by Prof. Lothar Frey. Within the framework of a cooperation agreement, the two institutions not only jointly operate the University‘s cleanroom hall and other laboratories, but also work closely together with regard to teaching and research.

The cooperation of the Chair of Electron Devices and the Fraunhofer IISB allows to cover the entire chain of topics from basic research to the transfer to industry. For many years, the vocational training as a “microtechnologist” has been offered jointly by IISB and the Chair of Electron Devices. Employees of IISB assist in courses and internships at the University.

The following staff members of Fraunhofer IISB regularly give lectures at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg:

Dr. Andreas Erdmann
Optical Lithography: Technology, Physical Effects, and Modeling

Dr. Tobias Erlbacher
Semiconductor Power Devices

Dr. Jochen Friedrich
Fundamentals and Technology of the Growth of Semiconductor and Optical Crystals

Dr. Michael Jank
Introduction to Printable Electronics

Dr. Jürgen Lorenz
Process and Device Simulation

Prof. Dr. Martin März
Automotive Electronics,
Architecture and Systems Technology for Electric Mobility

Dr. Elke Meissner
Characterization of Semiconductors

Prof. Dr. Lothar Pfitzner
Semiconductor Equipment Technics

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Peter Pichler
Reliability and Failure Analysis of Integrated Circuits

Prof. Dr. Heiner Ryssel
Cleanroom Technology