Simulation

Characterization and Optimization of Technology, Devices, and Systems

We are developing and applying physical models, algorithms, and simulation programs for semiconductor process steps, manufacturing equipment, semiconductor devices, as well as for integrated systems such as those encountered in power electronics. The overall goal is to support characterization and optimization of technology, devices, and systems.

Our methods range from first-principle calculations on the atomic or molecular scale to simulations for complete systems, for instance using heuristic models. We closely cooperate with companies in the field of semiconductors and power electronics, material and equipment suppliers, software houses, and research institutions.

In recent years the activities of the department have been strongly expanding into the area of “More than Moore”, which consists of fields such as analog electronics, low-power electronics, power electronics, and microsystems technology.

 

Doping and Device Simulation

Theoretical and experimental investigation of diffusion processes as encountered in semiconductor technology. Our aim is to improve process characterization and optimization by simulation. Among others, we work on the the development and application of simulation programs that predict dopant concentrations and on the simulation of electrical properties of devices.

 

Computational
Lithography and Optics

Physical and chemical models, numerical algorithms and software for the simulation of lithographic processes – bundled together in IISB’s in-house software ‘Dr.LiTHO’. Next to model and software development, we offer support for industrial and governmental partners in process development and feasibility studies.

 

Structure Simulation

We work on the development and application of simulation programs on structures, such as microelectronic devices or interconnects, as well as macroscopic structure, as can be found in power electronic systems. Our simulations address the manufacturing processes as well as the operation of these structures with respect to electrical, thermal and mechanical behavior.

 

 

Equipment Simulation

Simulation of thermal and plasma processes for semiconductor technology and other fields of applications.

 

Brochures and Flyers

Entire Power Electronic Systems Value Chain

Related Research Areas at Fraunhofer IISB

Simulation

Charakterisierung und Optimierung von Technologien, Bauelementen und Systemen

Wir entwickeln physikalische Modelle, Algorithmen und Simulationssoftware für Halbleiterprozessschritte, Fertigungsgeräte, Halbleiterbauelemente sowie integrierte Systeme, beispielsweise für die Leistungselektronik, und bringen diese zur Anwendung. Damit unterstützen wir die Charakterisierung und Optimierung von Technologien, Bauelementen und Systemen.

Die eingesetzten Methoden reichen dabei von Berechnungen auf atomarer und molekularer Ebene bis hin zu Simulationen ganzer Systeme, beispielsweise mittels heuristischer Modelle. Unsere Arbeiten finden statt in enger Kooperation mit Halbleiterfirmen, Firmen aus dem Bereich Leistungselektronik, Material- und Geräteherstellern, Softwarehäusern und Forschungseinrichtungen.

In den letzten Jahren haben sich unsere Aktivitäten im Bereich „More than Moore“ signifikant erweitert, beispielsweise auf Themengebieten wie Analogelektronik, Low-Power-Elektronik, Leistungselektronik oder Mikrosystemtechnik.

 

Dotierung und Bauelemente

Wir befassen uns mit theoretischen und experimentellen Untersuchungen von Diffusionsprozessen in der Halbleitertechnologie. Ziel ist es dabei, die Charakterisierung und Optimierung von Prozessen zu ermöglichen. Wir entwickeln Programme zur Vorhersage von Dotierstoffkonzentrationen und wenden diese in Verbindung mit Bauelementesimulationen an.

 

Lithographie und Optik

Physikalische und chemische Modelle, numerische Algorithmen und Software für die Simulation lithographischer Prozesse stehen im Simulator Dr.LiTHO des IISB zur Verfügung. Unseren Kunden und Partners bieten wir auf dieser Basis umfangreiche Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Lithographieprozessen.

 

Struktur-
simulation

Wir arbeiten an der Entwicklung und Anwendung von Simulationsprogrammen für verschiedene Strukturen wie z.B. Halbleiterbauelemente oder -verbindungsstrukturen, aber auch makroskopische Systeme, beispielsweise aus dem Bereich der Leistungselektronik. Wir beschäftigen uns sowohl mit der Herstellung als auch dem Betrieb der entsprechenden Strukturen.

 

Gerätesimulation

Simulation von thermischen und Plasma-Prozessen für die Halbleitertechnologie und andere Anwendungsfelder.

 

Broschüren und Flyer

Weitere Forschungsgebiete am IISB

Die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette der Leistungselektronik